Homestead Freedom on the 4th of July!

I thought today would be a great day to start a blog I’ve been thinking about for a little while, Homestead FREEdom!  The name Homestead Freedom comes from a couple of different places.  My wife, I and our three daughters moved to our small farm almost exactly four years ago.  We have a dream to make our farm self-sustaining and raise most of what we need right here on our farm, we want it to be our homestead.

Freedom, well I’ve been reading some blogs lately (I’ll get in to all of them later) and one of them is Man vs. Debt.  One of his posts last year was a post of a TEDx talk he gave late last year.  In his post, “My TEDx Talk:  Sell Your Crap, Pay Off Your Debt, Do What You Love…” he asked a question that has had me thinking the last few days.  His question was:

What does FREEDOM mean to you?

He explains that he isn’t asking what the word freedom mean, but what does it mean to us in our life?  What will being free mean to us?  I’ve thought about that, and I don’t know if I have a perfect answer, but I know what some of the answers are.  One is to be debt free, another to be able to live off of our farm, and finally to run my own business.

One thing he says in there is that most people don’t like their jobs.  I am one of the people who does like my job.  I really enjoy the people I work with, I enjoy what I do, but I don’t want to do it the rest of my life.  I would rather be at home on my farm and make money from my farm, but since that isn’t possible now, I really enjoy what I am doing!

My hope with this blog is to share our journey of getting out of debt (and that may be a long journey), our journey to adding to our farm, working with our farm, and working towards our dreams.  I hope you’ll join us on this journey and I hope to learn from anyone reading.

So, what does FREEDOM mean to you?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

